Special Invited Speaker

"Semiconductor Lasers for Optical Fiber Communications and Evolving Society"

Yasuharu Suematsu,
Honorary Professor of Tokyo Institute of Technology.

BIOGRAPHY Yasuharu Suematsu received Dr. Eng. Degree from the Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1960. In the same year, he joined the Tokyo Institute of Technology, became Professor in 1973, and President from 1989 to 1993. Since then, he has been Director-General of a National Institute of MITI, President of Kochi University of Technology, and Director-General of the National Institute of Informatics (NII). He had served as member or chairperson of councils and committees in the government. He is a Foreign Associate of NAE and Foreign Member of NEA of Korea. He received David Sarnoff Award, Valdemar Paulsen's Gold Medal, Toray Prize, C&C Prize, Eduard Rhein Prize, IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal, the Order of the Sacred Treasure, Gold and Silver Star, a Person of Cultural Merit, and Japan Prize.

Invited Speakers (as of July 28)

Masahiro Asada (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Room-temperature oscillation of resonant tunneling diodes close to 2 THz and their functions for various applications
Michael I. Bakunov (University of Nizhny Novgorod, Russia)
Terahertz spectroscopy with a single frequency comb
Akira Endo (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
Development of DESHIMA: Superconducting on-chip spectrometer for submillimeter wave cosmology
Elmer S. Estacio (University of the Philippines - Diliman, Philippines)
Terahertz emission characteristics of MBE-grown GaAs and InAs-based film and nanostructures: surface modification effects
Kazuue Fujita (Hamamatsu Photonics K.K., Japan)
Efficient terahertz-wave generation in mid-infrared quantum cascade lasers with a dual-upper-state active region
Michitoshi Hayashi (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
A first principle study of THz spectroscopy of molecular crystals
Jeffrey Hesler (Virginia Diodes, Inc., U.S.A.)
Development of THz Test & Measurement Instrumentation to 1.6 THz
Hiromichi Hoshina (Riken, Japan)
Polymer Morphology Studied by Terahertz Spectroscopy
Mona Jarrahi (University of California Los Angeles, U.S.A.)
Plasmonics-Enabled Advancements in Terahertz Imaging and Spectroscopy Systems
Andrea Markelz (University at Buffalo, U.S.A.)
Terahertz Measurements of Correlated Motions in Proteins
Hiroaki Minamide (Riken, Japan)
Bright terahertz-wave generation and real-time imaging using nonlinear optical effect
Masaya Nagai (Osaka University, Japan)
THz time-domain spectroscopy using an achromatic wave plate based on the stacked parallel metal plates
Ajay Nahata (University of Utah, U.S.A.)
Terahertz Plasmonics and Metamaterials Using Unconventional Metals
Eko Tjipto Rahardjo (University of Indonesia, Indonesia)
Antennas for Terahertz Applications
François Simoens (CEA Leti-MINATEC, France)
Terahertz real-time imaging based on uncooled antenna-coupled bolometer arrays developed at CEA-LETI: review and perspectives
Joo-Hiuk Son (University of Seoul, Korea)
Challenges in terahertz cancer imaging
Jan Stake (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
Graphene electronics and integrated III-V diode circuits for terahertz applications
Masaaki Sudo (Aisin Seiki Co., Ltd., Japan)
Non-destructive thickness measurement system for paint multilayer based on femtosecond fiber laser technologies
Takuro Tajima (NTT Device Technology Laboratories, Japan)
Terahertz MMICs and Antenna-in-package Technology at 300 GHz for KIOSK Download System
Masashi Yamaguchi (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, U.S.A.)
Broadband THz spectroscopy of semiconductors using laser-induced plasma as a THz source

Memorial Session of Professor Masanori Hangyo

Teruya Ishihara (Tohoku University, Japan)
Polarization property of terahertz wave emission from gammadion-type
photoconductive antennas revisited
Masao Kitano (Kyoto University, Japan)
Frequency-independent transmission characteristic of self-complementary checkerboard-like screens
Makoto Nakajima (Osaka University, Japan)
Application of Terahertz field enhancement effect in metal microstructures
Atsushi Sanada (Yamaguchi University, Japan)
Transmission Line Metamaterials for Transformation Electromagnetics